Fort Wayne troopers, Allen County citizen recognized by ISP

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (ADAMS) – On Friday, June 24, 2022, the Indiana State Police held their annual awards ceremony at the Government Center (South) to recognize the exemplary and often heroic actions performed by ISP personnel over the course of the preceding year.

At this year’s ceremony, there were three Fort Wayne area troopers and an Allen County citizen recognized for distinguished performance or actions.

Indiana Stae Police released the following:

Rumple and Swineford
For “Exceptional Meritorious Service”, Senior Trooper Bryan Rumple was presented with the Department’s Combat Action Award, and Allen County resident Mr. Elysha Swineford was presented with a Commendation Award for their combined actions taken on February 10, 2022 in southern Allen County. Trooper Rumple was involved in a lengthy physical altercation with an armed and combative motorist after a vehicle pursuit. Mr. Elysha Swineford (a civilian passerby) stopped his vehicle and rendered assistance to Trooper Rumple. With Swineford’s help, Trooper Rumple was able to get the suspect into custody without further incident or necessary use of force. Both Trooper Rumple and the involved suspect were injured during this incident. Mr. Swineford’s extraordinary conduct in coming to the aid of a law enforcement officer reflects great credit upon himself and the value he places on human life. S/Trooper Rumple is a 14 year veteran of the Department, and currently assigned to road patrol duties in Allen County.

Senior Trooper Nick Meade was presented with a Life Saving Award for his actions taken on February 5, 2022 in the town of LaOtto, wherein he and another first responder conducted Cardio Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) on an elderly female suffering in cardiac distress. This medical intervention allowed necessary time for Noble County EMS Paramedics to arrive on scene and provided more specific medical aid. The victim made a full recovery, in part, due the willingness and quick actions of Trooper Meade and the other first responders. Trooper Meade is a 14 year veteran of the department. He is currently assigned as a Patrol K9 Handler conducting road patrol duties in Noble and LaGrange county(s) with his K9 partner “Jake”.

Ben Walker 2021 District Trooper of the Year
Trooper Ben Walker received the 2021 Trooper of the District award. This award is presented to the Trooper who has achieved outstanding enforcement efforts in the areas of traffic as well as criminal enforcement, case and crash investigations, public information programs and community service, and who has exemplified the professionalism and integrity expected of an Indiana State Trooper. Trooper Walker was also presented with the District 22 Top Drunk Driving Enforcement Award, with 84 drunk driving arrests made in 2021. Trooper Walker is a four year veteran of the department, and is currently assigned road patrol duties in Steuben County. This is the second year in a row in which Trooper Walker has been recognized for his work towards removing impaired drivers from our Hoosier roadways in northeast Indiana.

On behalf of Indiana State Police Superintendent Douglas Carter, and the entire ISP family, we sincerely thank the men and women recognized at this year’s ISP Awards Ceremony. Your daily dedication and commitment to duty in our communities makes a real difference.