Music Report

Country – Vipology News Hounds

Luke Bryan to Host 2021 CMA Awards

Yesterday, the Country Music Association and ABC announced that Luke Bryan will be hosting the 2021 CMA Awards. 

This will be the first time since before 2008 that the CMA Awards will have a single host, as Carrie Underwood, Brad Paisley, Reba McIntire, and even Dolly Parton have cycled through different pairings of co-hosts throughout the years. 

Bryan, a historic CMA winner, is also nominated for musical event of the year in addition to being the host. 

“The CMA Awards is one of the biggest nights of the year for country music,” the American Idol judge said in a statement. “Being asked to host the CMA Awards was definitely something I put a lot of thought into before answering. The pressure that comes along with that can be overwhelming, but knowing I get to help honor and celebrate so many of my friends, I knew it was something I couldn’t turn down.”

The 2021 CMA Awards will air from Nashville, Tennessee on November 10th. 

Photo credit: Debby Wong /

Garth Brooks: Randy Travis “Saved” Country Music

Garth Brooks took the honor of presenting Randy Travis with CMT’s 2021 Artist of a Lifetime award very seriously at the 2021 CMT Artists of the Year last week. 

“I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: Randy Travis singlehandedly saved country music,” Brooks said on stage during his tribute to the country scene veteran. “Every artist in country music that takes the stage over the next 100 years should bow to this man and thank him for his contributions to country music.”

Travis, who debuted in 1986 with multi-platinum Storms of Life, suffered from a stroke in 2013, leaving the legendary singer unable to sing like he used to. His wife, Mary Travis, reassured country fans, saying that the stroke “may have taken the voice, but it didn’t take the man. And it didn’t take the heart.” 

Photo credit: s_bukley /

Lee Brice Celebrates His Ninth Consecutive No. 1 Hit

“Y’all…We have the #1 song on country radio!!” Lee Brice exclaims on social media, expressing gratitude to both his “team” and his fans for getting his song, “Memory I Don’t Mess With,” to a #1 spot. The track follows in suit after “One of Them Girls,” “I Hope You’re Happy Now,” “Rumor,” and other hits from Brice’s career. 

While the original version was released back in October of 2020, Brice gifted country fans with an acoustic version of the single over this past summer. He also released a touching video along with the acoustic release. 

“It’s like this little snapshot of a moment in time in my personal life,” the country veteran says of “Memory I Don’t Mess With,” bringing, even more, meaning to his ninth #1 song in a row. 

Photo credit: Debby Wong /

Carlos Santana Recruits Chris Stapleton for “Joy”

The fourth single from Carlos Santana’s upcoming album, Blessings and Miracles, “Joy” is an upbeat and groovy collaboration with country singer-songwriter Chris Stapleton. 

As a creation meant to deliver exactly what it’s titled, the guitar-laden track blends Santana’s iconic talent and Stapleton’s vocals. 

“I was very intrigued to work with Chris,” Santana expressed in an interview. “We talked on the phone about the Covid situation and how there’s so much fear in the world, and I said, ‘We need to create music as a healing force. We must bring hope and courage and disinfect twisted minds infected with darkness.’” 

Photo credit: Myzz Frantastic /

Kacey Muusgraves’ “Star-Crossed” Not Eligible for Country Album Grammy

Despite having one previous Grammy win out of two country album of the year nominations, among five other Grammy wins overall, Kacey Musgraves’ newest album star-crossed has been deemed ineligible for the category for the 64th annual music award show. 

Cindy Mabe, president of Universal Music Group Nashville, protests the decision, explaining that “taking [Musgraves] out of the country category actually does harm to a format struggling with change and inclusivity overall.” 

Mabe continues, emphasizing the importance of embracing diversity in country music: “The numbers speak and are a matter of public record with women making up only 10 percent of all country airplay. This year alone country music has been mired in the controversy surrounding one of the formats [sic] biggest artists, Morgan Wallen, who used a racial slur and grew fans and audience from it. THIS IS NOT ALL THAT WE ARE. Under the surface are the artists that change it all and they are led by the example of Kacey Musgraves.”

Official nominations will be announced on November 23rd, and the show will be held on January 31st of next year. 

Photo credit: DFree /

Viewing page 1 of 4|Next Page